In Austria, deposit protection and investor compensation are regulated by the Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act (Einlagensicherungs- und Anlegerentschädigungsgesetz – ESAEG). These provisions represent the transposition of corresponding EU directives into national law.

Since 1 January 2019, investor compensation for all Austrian credit institutions is performed by Einlagensicherung AUSTRIA Ges.m.b.H (DGS AUSTRIA). Exceptions are those banks being member of the institutional protection system of ERSTE Bank and savings banks. Those banks are protected by S-Haftungs GmbH.

Every credit institution domiciled in Austria that wishes to provide investment services subject to compulsory coverage must belong to one of these two protection schemes, otherwise its licence to provide investment services subject to compulsory coverage will expire. The licenses of all Austrian credit institutions can be checked on the website of theFinancial Market Authority (FMA). The ownership structure of a credit institution is irrelevant for investor compensation; the existence of an Austrian license is essential.

Legally dependent branches of banks that provide investment services in Austria under the freedom of establishment and the freedom to provide services and which therefore do not have an Austrian banking license are subject to investor compensation in the country in which the bank is domiciled. Therefore, any claims must always be asserted in accordance with the legal provisions of the country of domicile. These foreign credit institutions may also become members of an Austrian protection scheme (voluntary membership) with respect to the securities services provided in their branches in Austria that are subject to compulsory coverage, but are only protected there to the extent that the type and scope of protection provided by the state in which the credit institution is domiciled is less than that provided in Austria.

Frequently asked questions on investor compensation

 

Which claims are covered by the investor compenstion?

In principle, all receivables from the bank from

  • the safekeeping and administration of securities for others (custody business),
  • trading by the credit institution in money market instruments, financial futures contracts, interest rate futures contracts, forward rate agreements, interest rate and foreign exchange swaps and equity swaps, securities and instruments derived therefrom,
  • the participation of the credit institution in third party issues (loro issuing business),
  • the collection and assessment of severance pay and self-employed pension contributions (company pension fund business),
  • portfolio management by managing portfolios on an individual customer basis with discretionary mandate of the customer, provided that the customer portfolio contains one or more financial instruments (investment services pursuant to section 3 para 2 no. 2 Securities Supervision Act 2018)

When is the investor compensation paid?

Securities held in a customer custody account in accordance with the agreement are merely held in safe custody by the Bank. They are the property of the customer and must be delivered to the customer at any time upon request or transferred to another securities account designated by the customer. They are therefore in principle neither a case for deposit protection nor for investor compensation.

Securities which are held in a client custody account in accordance with the agreement, but which in a payout event cannot be transferred or disbursed by the Bank to another custody account in accordance with instructions, are secured up to a maximum amount of EUR 20,000.00 within the framework of investor compensation.

Claims arising from credit balances of accounts which could be indemnified both as a covered deposit and as a claim from securities transactions subject to security obligations are to be indemnified as a covered deposit within the framework of deposit protection (article 51 (1) Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act).

Amounts that originate from the reflow from the customer's securities (e.g. dividend income, coupon payments, redemptions or sales proceeds) are secured as a deposit in an account of the customer within the framework of deposit protection up to a maximum payout amount of EUR 100,000.

Income accruing between the occurrence of the payout event and the disbursement of the secured amount is taken into account within the framework of investor compensation (article 50 (2) Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act).

Please note that article 47 (2) Deposit Guarantee Schemes and Investor Compensation Act excludes certain claims from securities transactions from the coverage within the scope of investor compensation.

If the respective prerequisites for the claim are met, claims from deposit protection and investor compensation can be exercised independently of each other; there is no aggregation.

Member institutions

Find out if deposits at your bank are guaranteed by us.

Next

Die Einlagensicherung und die Anlegerentschädigung sind in Österreich im Bundesgesetz über die Einlagensicherung und Anlegerentschädigung bei Kreditinstituten (Einlagensicherungs- und Anlegerentschädigungsgesetz - ESAEG) geregelt. Bei diesen Bestimmungen handelt es sich um die Umsetzung von entsprechenden Richtlinien der EU in innerstaatliches Recht.

Seit 1.1.2019 wird die Anlegerentschädigungsfunktion für alle österreichischen Kreditinstitute durch die Einlagensicherung AUSTRIA Ges.m.b.H. wahrgenommen. Ausgenommen davon sind jene Banken, welche dem institutsbezogenen Sicherungssystem von Erste Bank und Sparkassen angehören und deshalb durch die S-Haftungs GmbH gesichert sind.

Jedes Kreditinstitut mit Sitz in Österreich, das sicherungspflichtige Wertpapierdienstleistungen erbringen möchte, muss einer dieser beiden Sicherungseinrichtungen angehören, andernfalls erlischt seine Konzession zur Erbringung sicherungspflichtiger Wertpapierdienstleistungen. Ob und welche Konzession ein Kreditinstitut in Österreich hat, lässt sich auf derFinanzmarktaufsicht (FMA) einsehen. Die Eigentümerstruktur eines Kreditinstituts ist für die Anlegerentschädigung unerheblich; wesentlich ist das Vorliegen einer österreichischen Konzession.

Rechtlich unselbständige Filialen ausländischer Kreditinstitute, die im Rahmen der Niederlassungs- und Dienstleistungsfreiheit in Österreich sicherungspflichtige Wertpapierdienstleistungen erbringen und daher keine österreichische Bankkonzession haben, unterliegen der Anlegerentschädigung im Sitzstaat des Kreditinstitutes. Daher sind allfällige Ansprüche grundsätzlich nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Sitzstaates geltend zu machen. Diese ausländischen Kreditinstitute können hinsichtlich der in ihren Filialen in Österreich erbrachten sicherungspflichtigen Wertpapierdienstleistungen zusätzlich bei einer österreichischen Sicherungseinrichtung Mitglied werden (freiwillige Mitgliedschaft), sind dort aber nur so weit gesichert, als der Sitzstaat des Kreditinstituts mit der dortigen Pflichtsicherung nach Art und Umfang weniger sichert als Österreich.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Anlegerentschädigung

 

Welche Forderungen sind von der Anlegerentschädigung erfasst?

Grundsätzlich sämtliche Forderungen gegen das Kreditinstitut aus

  • der Verwahrung und Verwaltung von Wertpapieren für andere (Depotgeschäft),
  • dem Handel des Kreditinstituts mit Geldmarktinstrumenten, Finanztermin-kontrakten, Zinsterminkontrakten, Forward Rate Agreements, Zins-und Devisenswaps sowie Equity Swaps, Wertpapieren und daraus abgeleiteten Instrumenten,
  • der Teilnahme des Kreditinstituts an der Emission Dritter (Loroemissionsgeschäft),
  • der Hereinnahme und Veranlagung von Abfertigungsbeiträgen und Selbständigenvorsorgebeiträgen (Betriebliches Vorsorgekassengeschäft),
  • der Portfolioverwaltung durch Verwaltung von Portfolios auf Einzelkundenbasis mit einem Ermessensspielraum im Rahmen einer Vollmacht des Kunden, sofern das Kundenportfolio ein oder mehrere Finanzinstrumente enthält (Wertpapierdienstleistungen gemäß § 3 Abs. 2 Z 2 WAG 2018).

Wann kommt die Anlegerentschädigung zum Tragen?

Wertpapiere, die vertragskonform auf einem Kundendepot liegen, werden von der Bank lediglich verwahrt. Sie stehen im Eigentum des Kunden und sind ihm auf Wunsch jederzeit auszufolgen oder auf ein von ihm benanntes anderes Depot zu übertragen. Sie sind daher grundsätzlich weder ein Fall für die Einlagensicherung noch für die Anlegerentschädigung.

Wertpapiere, die vertragskonform auf einem Kundendepot liegen, von der Bank im Sicherungsfall allerdings nicht weisungsgemäß auf ein anderes Depot übertragen oder ausgefolgt werden können, sind im Rahmen der Anlegerentschädigung bis zum Höchstbetrag von EUR 20.000,-- gesichert.

Forderungen aus Guthaben von Konten, die sowohl als gedeckte Einlage als auch als sicherungspflichtige Forderung aus Wertpapiergeschäften entschädigt werden könnten, sind als gedeckte Einlage im Rahmen der Einlagensicherung zu entschädigen (§ 51 Abs 1 ESAEG).

Beträge, die aus dem Rückfluss aus Wertpapieren des Kunden stammen (zB Dividendenerträge, Kuponauszahlungen, Tilgungen oder Verkaufserlöse), sind als Guthaben auf einem Konto des Kunden im Rahmen der Einlagensicherung bis zum Auszahlungshöchstbetrag von EUR 100.000,-- gesichert.

Erträgnisse, die zwischen Eintritt des Sicherungsfalls und der Auszahlung des gesicherten Betrags anfallen, werden im Rahmen der Anlegerentschädigung berücksichtigt (§ 50 Abs 2 ESAEG).

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das ESAEG in § 47 Abs 2 bestimmte Forderungen aus Wertpapiergeschäften von der Sicherung im Rahmen der Anlegerentschädigung ausschließt.

Bei Vorliegen der jeweiligen Voraussetzungen für die Inanspruchnahme können Ansprüche aus Einlagensicherung und Anlegerentschädigung unabhängig voneinander geltend gemacht werden, eine Zusammenrechnung findet nicht statt.

Unsere Mitgliedsinstitute

Finden Sie heraus, ob Guthaben bei Ihrer Bank durch uns gesichert sind.

Weiter